Daily Archives: October 29, 2012

When You’re The Only Person Your Age at A Party

Remember the days where you were pretty much given no choice but to attend the parties your parents were invited to because you were too young to be left alone in the house or that saying “no” had absolutely no effect because you say no to everything your parents say anyway? In reality, we were invited to parties to witness parents get drunk, talk loudly and make innuendos out of everything. The only thing that saves you from jumping off a cliff is the food and drinks, even if it’s just downing pints of water and chomping on salted chips. Anything but to expose my eyes and ears to such a cringe fest.

You also don’t want to socialize with all the tiny ones, aka people ‘who are like, 12’ because they are replaying all the crap songs on youtube and writing comments on facebook. What the hell happened to running around in the park, playing cards and connecting the damn dots?! We were cooler kids back then. By back then I mean the nineties. You then get your parents’ friends who ask about your job, school…that’s about it really. A brief five-minute rundown of what is happening in my life and then there isn’t anything left to talk about. Please don’t ask go into awkward territory and ask if I am in a relationship, I don’t even know you.

The only thing that keeps me sane throughout the night is my phone. I can text people I don’t even really talk to on a regular basis because I am that bored and pretend to be interested in knowing their latest updates in life, perhaps pry into their love life whether it exists or not. I won’t even think twice to text all my closer friends and have the usual “hi, sup? Nothing much, you?” type of conversation where it pretty much dies after the brief exchange of words, then think of the most random topic just to keep the conversation going. For all I know I could be interrupting their social gathering with their zillions of friends while I am happily and thankfully stuck with parents and kids.

The night finally ends at 3am where the kids are on the verge of dropping dead of tiredness yet at the same time full of energy because it was so cool to stay up hours after bedtime. On the other side of the spectrum you have drunken parents who still don’t want the night to be over because the next day it’s back to being a parent again and savoring each second of being able to let loose. As for me, I had front row seats to witnessing the transition of sober to tipsy to just plain gone. It’s like I stepped into a high-school reunion minus the facebook pictures posted the next day. The one good thing about the party is the music because their generation had better quality songs and remain as classic tunes to-date compared to a lot of the stuff we hear on the radio – fact.